AAS Names 23 New Fellows for 2022

The American Astronomical Society (AAS), a major international organization of professional astronomers, astronomy educators, and amateur astronomers, is honoring 23 members, including Prof. Luis Ho, Director of KIAA at Peking University, for extraordinary achievement and service by naming them AAS Fellows. They are being recognized for original research and publications, innovative contributions to astronomical techniques or instrumentation, significant contributions to education and public outreach, and noteworthy service to astronomy and to the Society itself.

Luis Ho

Prof. Ho is awarded a AAS Fellow for pioneering multiwavelength searches for active galactic nuclei powered by black holes, and for leadership that is shaping China’s emergence as a world power in astronomy. Past AAS Fellows include Nobel Prize winners Andrea Ghez, John Mather, James Peebles, Adam Riess, and Rainer Weiss.

The inaugural class of AAS Fellows was named in 2020; those Legacy Fellows included more than 200 Society members, including past recipients of certain awards from the AAS or its topical Divisions, distinguished AAS elected leaders and volunteer committee members, and previously unrecognized individuals with long histories of outstanding research, teaching, mentoring, and service.

The 2022 AAS Fellows now represent the third class recognized for enhancing and sharing humanity’s scientific understanding of the universe through personal achievement and extraordinary service to the astronomical sciences and to the AAS.  The previous class, in 2021, included Prof. Ho’s PhD advisor, Prof. Alexei Filippenko, at UC-Berkeley.

“This year’s AAS Fellow selections add to the growing list of distinguished members of our Society,” says AAS President Paula Szkody (University of Washington). “We’re delighted to recognize both the outstanding scientific accomplishments and the service to our community represented by the 2022 Fellows.”

For more information, see the AAS Fellows page, the AAS Fellows FAQ page, and the inaugural Fellows class press release.