Colloquia

All colloquia are held in the KIAA-PKU auditorium unless otherwise noted.

Upcoming Colloquia

Thursday, May 25, 2017 - 4:00pm Ian Czekala, KIPAC Postdoctoral Fellow at Stanford University
Protoplanetary Disks around Pre-main Sequence Binary Stars
Thursday, June 1, 2017 - 4:00pm Prof. Zach Etienne, West Virginia University (WVU) Department of Mathematics, http://math.wvu.edu/~zetienne/
Electromagnetic Counterparts to Gravitational Wave Detections: Bridging the Gap between Theory and Observation
Thursday, June 8, 2017 - 4:00pm Xu Kong
TBD
Thursday, June 15, 2017 - 4:00pm Zheng Zheng
TBD
Thursday, June 22, 2017 - 4:00pm Xilong Fan
TBD
Thursday, June 29, 2017 - 4:00pm Banibrata Mukhopadhyay
TBD
Thursday, September 21, 2017 - 4:00pm Barbara Catinella
TBD
Thursday, September 28, 2017 - 4:00pm Sherry Suyu
TBD
Thursday, October 12, 2017 - 4:00pm Prof. Laura Sales, UC Riverside
TBD
Thursday, October 19, 2017 - 4:00pm Jorge Piekarewicz, Department of Physics, Florida State University
The Nuclear Physics of Neutron Stars

Past Colloquia

Thursday, May 11, 2017 - 4:00pm Martin Bureau, Professor of Astrophysics at the University of Oxford, Lindemann Fellow and Tutor in Physics at Wadham College
3D Observations of Molecular Gas in Galaxies: From Global Dynamics to Supermassive Black Holes
Friday, May 5, 2017 - 4:00pm Anthony Lasenby, Professor of Astrophysics and Cosmology, Cavendish Astrophysics Group, Kavli Institute for Cosmology, Cambridge
Black Holes and Gravitational Waves
Thursday, April 27, 2017 - 4:00pm Shude Mao, Director, Center for Astrophysics, Tsinghua University, Researcher, National Astronomical Observatories of China, Professor of astrophysics, Jodrell Bank Observatory, Univ. of Manchester, http://astro.tsinghua.edu.cn/~smao/
Is the initial mass function universal in galaxies? A MaNGA view
Thursday, April 20, 2017 - 4:00pm Qingguo Huang, Institute of Theoretical Physics, CAS
Did LIGO hear the coalescence of primordial black holes?
Thursday, April 13, 2017 - 4:00pm Renbin Yan
The Puzzle of Low Ionization Emission in Galaxies
Thursday, April 6, 2017 - 4:00pm Taka Kajino, Int. Research Center for Big-Bang Cosmology and Element Genesis, Beihang University, Department of Astronomy, The University of Tokyo, National Astronomical Observatory of Japan
Solving the mystery of r-process, supernovae or neutron-star mergers?
Thursday, March 30, 2017 - 4:00pm Stuart Wyithe (University of Melbourne, Australia)
Modelling galaxy formation and reionization with DRAGONS
Thursday, March 9, 2017 - 4:00pm Volker Ossenkopf-Okada
Characterizing interstellar cloud turbulence
Thursday, March 2, 2017 - 4:00pm Yefei Yuan (USTC)
Double SMBHs and Double TDEs
Thursday, February 23, 2017 - 4:00pm Sun Kwok (The University of Hong Kong)
Organic Matter in the Universe: from solar system to distant galaxies

Pages