研究领域

观测宇宙学,星系形成和演化

星系与其中所聚集的气体、恒星和尘埃是宇宙结构中主要的可见部分。理解星系的形成和演化是天体物理的一个关键问题,包含了恒星星族、引力动力学、气体物理、活动星系核、计算机模拟以及宇宙学。

星际介质,恒星形成和行星系统

包括了气体、尘埃以及磁场的恒星际介质(ISM),为恒星与行星的形成提供了原始物质。这一科学领域研究ISM的结构,同时也包括了恒星、恒星团以及行星系统的形成和演化的细节。

引力物理和高能现象

引力物理学涉及了对数值相对论应用、黑洞动力学、引力辐射源、引力塌缩中的临界现象、广义相对论的初值问题以及相对论天体物理的研究。这里也包括了很多与这些过程联系的高能现象。

计算天体物理

天体物理学,在利用计算机能力来理解复杂现象的方面,是处于领先地位的学科之一。模拟可以限制理论,并在一个很大尺度上与观测对比:从相对论性的双星、吸积盘以及恒星形成区,一直到星团、整个星系以及整个宇宙尺度上的宇宙学体积。

Research Areas

Observational Cosmology, Galaxy Formation and Evolution

Galaxies, and their accumulated gas, stars, and dust, are the main visible manifestations of structure in the Universe. Understanding galaxy formation and evolution is one of the key problems in astrophysics, combining the fields of stellar populations, gravitational dynamics, gas physics, active galactic nuclei, computer simulations, and cosmology.

Interstellar medium, Star Formation, and Planets

The interstellar medium, consisting of gas, dust, and magnetic fields, is the raw material from which stars and planets form. This area of research studies the structure of the ISM, as well as the detailed formation and evolution of stars, star clusters, and planetary systems.

Gravitational Physics and High-energy Phenomena

Gravitational physics research involves studies of applications of numerical relativity, black hole dynamics, sources of gravitational radiation, critical phenomena in gravitational collapse, the initial value problem of general relativity, and relativistic astrophysics. These studies also include the many high energy phenomena associated with these processes.

Computational Astrophysics

Astrophysics is one of the leading fields in the use of computational power to understand complex phenomena. Simulations can constrain theories and be matched to observations on a large range of scales: from relativistic binaries, accretion disks, and star forming regions, to star clusters, whole galaxies, and cosmological volumes of the Universe.