Pizza Discussion

On Tuesdays, KIAA has an astro pizza discussion, led each week by postdocs at KIAA or DoA (Only postdocs can join this discussion).

The topic could be one's own research, or any question or material the speaker finds appropriate to discuss in this forum.  Unlike a lunch talk, the speaker is not expected to make a presentation; relevant figures are printed and passed around, and a white board is used if necessary. The event takes place on the second meeting room of the KIAA building on Tuesdays at 12.00 h.

 

Contact persons: Shu Wang (shuwang[_at_]pku.edu.cn); Jincheng Guo (jincheng.guo[_at_]pku.edu.cn)

Upcoming Pizza Discussions

Place
Tuesday, May 22, 2018 - 12:00pm Sungsoon Lim
What is the Ultra-Diffuse Galaxy?
KIAA-PKU
Tuesday, May 29, 2018 - 12:00pm Jincheng Guo
TBD
KIAA-PKU
Tuesday, June 5, 2018 - 12:00pm Jongsuk Hong
TBD
KIAA-PKU
Tuesday, June 12, 2018 - 12:00pm Yanxia Xie
TBD
KIAA-PKU
Tuesday, June 19, 2018 - 12:00pm Chandra
TBD
KIAA-PKU
Tuesday, June 26, 2018 - 12:00pm Yuanpei Yang
TBD
KIAA-PKU

Past Pizza Discussions

Place
Tuesday, May 12, 2015 - 12:00pm James Taylor (University of Waterloo)
The Efficiency of Galaxy Formation on the Smallest Scales: Lessons from Virgo
KIAA-PKU (Pizza discussion)
Wednesday, April 29, 2015 - 12:00pm Doug Johnstone (National Research Council Canada, Herzberg Astronomy and Astrophysics)
From Cloud Cores to Protostars (Facts, Fiction, and Speculation)
KIAA-PKU
Tuesday, April 14, 2015 - 12:00pm Haoran Yu
Cosmic velocity field
KIAA-PKU
Friday, March 27, 2015 - 12:00pm Hsiao-Wen Chen (Chicago)
Mining the SDSS spectroscopic archive
KIAA-PKU
Tuesday, January 27, 2015 - 12:00pm Yohai Meiron
Mars
KIAA-PKU
Tuesday, January 13, 2015 - 12:00am Daniel Fabrycky (Chicago)
Circumbinary Planets
KIAA-PKU
Tuesday, December 23, 2014 - 12:00pm Ran Wang
Herschel study of high-z weak line quasars
KIAA-PKU
Friday, December 19, 2014 - 12:00pm Munan Gong
Prestellar Core Formation, Evolution, and Accretion
KIAA-PKU
Tuesday, December 9, 2014 - 12:00pm Fupeng Zhang
Testing the Kerr Metric of the Massive black hole in the galactic center using stellar orbital motion.
KIAA-PKU
Tuesday, December 2, 2014 - 12:00pm Richard de Grijs
The search for longitude: Preliminary insights from a 17th Century Dutch perspective
KIAA-PKU

Pages