Pizza Discussion

On Tuesdays, KIAA has an astro pizza discussion, led each week by postdocs at KIAA or DoA (Only postdocs can join this discussion).

The topic could be one's own research, or any question or material the speaker finds appropriate to discuss in this forum.  Unlike a lunch talk, the speaker is not expected to make a presentation; relevant figures are printed and passed around, and a white board is used if necessary. The event takes place on the second meeting room of the KIAA building on Tuesdays at 12.00 h.

 

Contact persons: Alexander Kolodzig (alex_kolo[_at_]gmx.de); Yonghwi Kim (yonghwi.kim[_at_]gmail.com)

Upcoming Pizza Discussions

Place
Tuesday, March 28, 2017 - 12:00pm Jincheng Guo
TBD
KIAA-PKU
Tuesday, April 4, 2017 - 12:00pm Subhash Bose
TBD
KIAA-PKU
Tuesday, April 18, 2017 - 12:00pm Xiangkun Liu
TBD
KIAA-PKU
Tuesday, April 25, 2017 - 12:00pm Bingqiu Chen
TBD
KIAA-PKU
Tuesday, May 2, 2017 - 12:00pm Alessia Longobardi
TBD
KIAA-PKU
Tuesday, May 9, 2017 - 12:00pm Su Yao
TBD
KIAA-PKU
Tuesday, May 16, 2017 - 12:00pm Yuanpei Yang
TBD
KIAA-PKU
Tuesday, May 23, 2017 - 12:00pm Petchara Pattarakijwanich
TBD
KIAA-PKU
Tuesday, May 30, 2017 - 12:00pm Shu Wang
TBD
KIAA-PKU
Tuesday, June 6, 2017 - 12:00pm Jongsuk Hong
TBD
KIAA-PKU
Tuesday, June 13, 2017 - 12:00pm Yonghwi Kim
TBD
KIAA-PKU
Tuesday, June 20, 2017 - 12:00pm Kohei Hayashi
TBD
KIAA-PKU
Tuesday, June 27, 2017 - 12:00pm Kexin Guo
TBD
KIAA-PKU

Past Pizza Discussions

Place
Friday, October 30, 2015 - 12:00pm Youjun Lu (NAOC)
Radiative efficiency of Quasars
KIAA-PKU (Pizza discussion)
Wednesday, August 26, 2015 - 12:00pm Yan-Fei Jiang
How do massive stars get their super-Eddington luminosity?
KIAA-PKU
Tuesday, June 30, 2015 - 12:00pm Thijs Kouwenhoven
Volcanism on Venus
KIAA-PKU
Tuesday, June 16, 2015 - 12:00pm Stephen Justham (NAOC)
Escaping the explosion: understanding fast and slow runaways from type Ia supernovae
KIAA-PKU (Pizza discussion)
Tuesday, May 26, 2015 - 12:00pm Song Huang (Kavli IPMU)
Hyper-Suprime Camera Survey: Trailer and the First Year
KIAA-PKU (Pizza discussion)
Tuesday, May 12, 2015 - 12:00pm James Taylor (University of Waterloo)
The Efficiency of Galaxy Formation on the Smallest Scales: Lessons from Virgo
KIAA-PKU (Pizza discussion)
Wednesday, April 29, 2015 - 12:00pm Doug Johnstone (National Research Council Canada, Herzberg Astronomy and Astrophysics)
From Cloud Cores to Protostars (Facts, Fiction, and Speculation)
KIAA-PKU
Tuesday, April 14, 2015 - 12:00pm Haoran Yu
Cosmic velocity field
KIAA-PKU
Friday, March 27, 2015 - 12:00pm Hsiao-Wen Chen (Chicago)
Mining the SDSS spectroscopic archive
KIAA-PKU
Tuesday, January 27, 2015 - 12:00pm Yohai Meiron
Mars
KIAA-PKU

Pages