Pizza Discussion

On Tuesdays, KIAA has an astro pizza discussion, led each week by postdocs at KIAA or DoA (Only postdocs can join this discussion).

The topic could be one's own research, or any question or material the speaker finds appropriate to discuss in this forum.  Unlike a lunch talk, the speaker is not expected to make a presentation; relevant figures are printed and passed around, and a white board is used if necessary. The event takes place on the second meeting room of the KIAA building on Tuesdays at 12.00 h.

 

Contact persons: Shu Wang (shuwang[_at_]pku.edu.cn); Jincheng Guo (jincheng.guo[_at_]pku.edu.cn)

Upcoming Pizza Discussions

Place
Tuesday, October 23, 2018 - 12:00am John
TBD
KIAA-PKU
Tuesday, November 6, 2018 - 12:00am Chandra
TBD
KIAA-PKU
Tuesday, November 20, 2018 - 12:00pm Hassen Yesuf
TBD
KIAA-PKU
Tuesday, November 27, 2018 - 12:00pm Anupam
TBD
KIAA-PKU
Tuesday, December 4, 2018 - 12:00pm Tapas
TBD
KIAA-PKU
Tuesday, December 11, 2018 - 12:00pm Youkyung Ko
TBD
KIAA-PKU
Tuesday, December 18, 2018 - 12:00pm Min Du
TBD
KIAA-PKU
Tuesday, December 25, 2018 - 12:00pm Su Yao
TBD
KIAA-PKU
Tuesday, January 8, 2019 - 12:00pm Toky
TBD
KIAA-PKU
Tuesday, January 15, 2019 - 12:00pm Jingjing Shi
TBD
KIAA-PKU
Tuesday, March 5, 2019 - 12:00pm Sonali Sachdeva
TBD
KIAA-PKU
Tuesday, March 12, 2019 - 12:00pm Chun Wang
TBD
KIAA-PKU
Tuesday, June 4, 2019 - 12:00pm shu wang
TBD
KIAA-PKU
Tuesday, June 18, 2019 - 12:00pm jincheng GUO
TBD
KIAA-PKU

Past Pizza Discussions

Place
Tuesday, May 24, 2016 - 12:00pm Pizza discussion
Pizza discussion
KIAA-PKU
Tuesday, May 17, 2016 - 12:00pm Yanxia Xie
A Brief Introduction to James Web Space Telescope and It's main Science Goals
KIAA-PKU
Tuesday, April 26, 2016 - 12:00pm Bingqiu Chen
The stellar population structure of the Galactic disk from the LAMOST survey
KIAA-PKU
Tuesday, April 12, 2016 - 12:00pm Yonghwi Kim
Dynamical and Kinematic features of the Gas in Disk Galaxies
KIAA-PKU
Tuesday, March 29, 2016 - 12:00pm Smitha Subramanian Hari Sharma
A road map for the generation of NIR guide star catalog for TMT observations
KIAA-PKU
Tuesday, March 22, 2016 - 12:00pm Pizza discussion
TBD
KIAA-PKU
Tuesday, March 15, 2016 - 12:00pm Juanjuan Ren
Photometric variables in the new era of surveys
KIAA-PKU
Tuesday, March 8, 2016 - 12:00pm Xiangkun Liu
(Weak) Gravitational Lensing: a brief overview
KIAA-PKU
Tuesday, March 1, 2016 - 12:00pm Haoran Yu
N-body simulations and Coarray Fortran parallelization
KIAA-PKU
Tuesday, January 12, 2016 - 12:00pm Gongjie Li
Hierarchical Three-body Dynamics --- How to Flip a Binary without a Spatula
KIAA-PKU

Pages