Pizza Discussion

On Tuesdays, KIAA has an astro pizza discussion, led each week by postdocs at KIAA or DoA (Only postdocs can join this discussion).

The topic could be one's own research, or any question or material the speaker finds appropriate to discuss in this forum.  Unlike a lunch talk, the speaker is not expected to make a presentation; relevant figures are printed and passed around, and a white board is used if necessary. The event takes place on the second meeting room of the KIAA building on Tuesdays at 12.00 h.

 

Contact persons: Alexander Kolodzig (alex_kolo[_at_]gmx.de); Yonghwi Kim (yonghwi.kim[_at_]gmail.com)

Upcoming Pizza Discussions

Place
Tuesday, March 28, 2017 - 12:00pm Jincheng Guo
TBD
KIAA-PKU
Tuesday, April 4, 2017 - 12:00pm Subhash Bose
TBD
KIAA-PKU
Tuesday, April 18, 2017 - 12:00pm Xiangkun Liu
TBD
KIAA-PKU
Tuesday, April 25, 2017 - 12:00pm Bingqiu Chen
TBD
KIAA-PKU
Tuesday, May 2, 2017 - 12:00pm Alessia Longobardi
TBD
KIAA-PKU
Tuesday, May 9, 2017 - 12:00pm Su Yao
TBD
KIAA-PKU
Tuesday, May 16, 2017 - 12:00pm Yuanpei Yang
TBD
KIAA-PKU
Tuesday, May 23, 2017 - 12:00pm Petchara Pattarakijwanich
TBD
KIAA-PKU
Tuesday, May 30, 2017 - 12:00pm Shu Wang
TBD
KIAA-PKU
Tuesday, June 6, 2017 - 12:00pm Jongsuk Hong
TBD
KIAA-PKU
Tuesday, June 13, 2017 - 12:00pm Yonghwi Kim
TBD
KIAA-PKU
Tuesday, June 20, 2017 - 12:00pm Kohei Hayashi
TBD
KIAA-PKU
Tuesday, June 27, 2017 - 12:00pm Kexin Guo
TBD
KIAA-PKU

Past Pizza Discussions

Place
Tuesday, March 8, 2016 - 12:00pm Xiangkun Liu
(Weak) Gravitational Lensing: a brief overview
KIAA-PKU
Tuesday, March 1, 2016 - 12:00pm Haoran Yu
N-body simulations and Coarray Fortran parallelization
KIAA-PKU
Tuesday, January 12, 2016 - 12:00pm Gongjie Li
Hierarchical Three-body Dynamics --- How to Flip a Binary without a Spatula
KIAA-PKU
Tuesday, December 29, 2015 - 12:00pm Jessy Jose
Filamentary structures in ISM - Herschel view
KIAA-PKU
Tuesday, December 22, 2015 - 12:00pm Zhijia Tian
Ground-based and Space Missions for Asteroseismology
KIAA-PKU
Wednesday, December 16, 2015 - 12:00pm Michael Anthony Gully-Santiago
Inference techniques for stellar spectroscopy
KIAA-PKU
Tuesday, December 8, 2015 - 12:00pm Sungsoon Lim
The first light instruments of TMT and GMT
KIAA-PKU
Wednesday, December 2, 2015 - 12:00pm Alexander Kolodzig
Past and future X-ray surveys - a brief and biased overview
KIAA-PKU
Tuesday, November 24, 2015 - 12:00pm Petchara Pattarakijwanich
Large Surveys in Astronomy (with Particular Focus on SDSS and LSST
KIAA-PKU
Tuesday, November 10, 2015 - 12:00pm Chao Liu (NAOC)
The secular evolution of the Milky Way disk
KIAA-PKU (Pizza discussion)

Pages