Pizza Discussion

On Tuesdays, KIAA has an astro pizza discussion, led each week by postdocs at KIAA or DoA (Only postdocs can join this discussion).

The topic could be one's own research, or any question or material the speaker finds appropriate to discuss in this forum.  Unlike a lunch talk, the speaker is not expected to make a presentation; relevant figures are printed and passed around, and a white board is used if necessary. The event takes place on the second meeting room of the KIAA building on Tuesdays at 12.00 h.

 

Contact persons: Chun Wang (wchun[_at_]pku.edu.cn); Hassen Yesuf (hyesuf[_at_]pku.edu.cn)

Upcoming Pizza Discussions

Place
Tuesday, December 18, 2018 - 12:00pm Min Du
Kinematic Decomposition of Galaxies in The Cosmological Simulation IllustrisTNG100
KIAA-PKU
Tuesday, December 25, 2018 - 12:00pm Su Yao
A changing look AGN discovered in LAMOST quasar survey
KIAA-PKU
Tuesday, January 8, 2019 - 12:00pm Toky
TBD
KIAA-PKU
Tuesday, January 15, 2019 - 12:00pm Jingjing Shi
TBD
KIAA-PKU
Tuesday, March 5, 2019 - 12:00pm Sonali Sachdeva
TBD
KIAA-PKU
Tuesday, March 12, 2019 - 12:00pm Chun Wang
TBD
KIAA-PKU
Tuesday, June 4, 2019 - 12:00pm shu wang
TBD
KIAA-PKU
Tuesday, June 18, 2019 - 12:00pm jincheng GUO
TBD
KIAA-PKU

Past Pizza Discussions

Place
Tuesday, April 18, 2017 - 12:00pm Xiangkun Liu
Strong lensing searches and cosmology
KIAA-PKU
Tuesday, April 11, 2017 - 12:00pm Subhash Bose
Optical observations of a peculiar supernova: ASASSN-15nx
KIAA-PKU
Tuesday, March 28, 2017 - 12:00pm Jincheng Guo
A disintegrating minor planet transiting the WD 1145+017
KIAA-PKU
Tuesday, March 21, 2017 - 12:00pm Smitha Subramanian Hari Sharma
X-shaped bulge of the Milky Way
KIAA-PKU
Tuesday, February 28, 2017 - 12:00pm Yanxia Xie
The physics learned from measuring PAHs: the stochastic heating of ultra small grains
KIAA-PKU
Wednesday, February 22, 2017 - 12:00pm Bai postdoc pizza
Xuening Bai: Pizza Lunch with postdocs
2nd meeting room, KIAA
Tuesday, February 21, 2017 - 12:00pm Dai postdoc pizza
Lixin Dai: Pizza lunch with Postdocs
2nd meeting room, KIAA
Monday, February 20, 2017 - 12:00pm de Putter postdoc pizza
Roland de Putter: Pizza lunch with postdocs
2nd meeting room, KIAA
Thursday, January 12, 2017 - 12:00pm Gregory J. Herczeg
Pizza Discussion
KIAA-PKU
Tuesday, January 10, 2017 - 12:00pm Alexander Kolodzig
Science wth the cosmic background - an example from X-rays
KIAA-PKU

Pages