Lunch Talks

Upcoming Lunch Talks

Place
Monday, October 29, 2018 - 12:00pm Alain Omont (‘Directeur de Recherche’) at Institut d’Astrophysique de Paris
Measurement of high redshifts of submillimeter galaxies with the new NOEMA system
DoA, Rm 2907
Tuesday, October 30, 2018 - 12:00pm Jubee Sohn (CfA)
A Complete Spectroscopic Census of Massively Accreting Cluster Abell 2029.
KIAA, 1st meeting room
Thursday, November 1, 2018 - 12:00pm KwangHo Park (Georgia Tech)
Radiation-regulated accretion onto seed black holes
KIAA, 1st meeting room
Friday, November 2, 2018 - 12:00pm Dr. James Aird ( University of Leicester)
TBD
KIAA, 1st meeting room
Wednesday, November 7, 2018 - 12:00pm Dacheng Lin (University of New Hampshire)
X-ray Tidal Disruption Events Discovered from the XMM-Newton Pointed Observations
KIAA, 1st meeting room
Thursday, November 15, 2018 - 12:00pm Kohei Ichikawa
TBD
KIAA, 1st meeting room
Monday, November 19, 2018 - 12:00pm TBD
TBD
Auditorium, KIAA
Tuesday, November 20, 2018 - 12:00pm tbd
tbd
Auditorium, KIAA
Wednesday, November 21, 2018 - 12:00pm Alessia Longobardi
Final Defence Lunch Talk
KIAA, 1st meeting room
Thursday, December 20, 2018 - 12:00pm Junwu Huang (Perimeter Institute, Canada)
Probing axions with neutron star inspirals observed by Advanced LIGO
1st floor meeting room, KIAA
Friday, December 28, 2018 - 12:00pm Hui Li (MIT)
TBD
KIAA, 1st meeting room

Past Lunch Talks

Place
Wednesday, October 25, 2017 - 12:00pm Holger Baumgardt (Queensland University, Australia)
The formation of the smallest galaxies
KIAA first floor meeting room
Tuesday, October 24, 2017 - 12:00pm Jian Fu (Shanghai Astronomical Observatory)
Modelling atomic and molecular gas and the radial profiles in SAMs.
KIAA, 1st floor meeting room
Monday, October 23, 2017 - 12:00pm Munan Gong (MG,Princeton University) - Kedron Silsbee (KS,Princeton University)
MG: Simulating chemistry in star forming environments -- KS: Producing distant solar system bodies by mutual scattering of planetary embryos
DoA, Rm 2907
Wednesday, October 18, 2017 - 12:00pm Doug Simons
Aligning Visions for Maunakea CANCELLED
DoA, Rm 2907
Wednesday, October 11, 2017 - 12:00pm Bill Coles
Microstructure of the Ionized ISM from Pulsar Observations
1st meeting room at KIAA
Wednesday, September 27, 2017 - 12:00pm Min Fang (University of Arizona)
Orion: a test bed for studying evolution of protoplanetary disks
1st meeting room, KIAA
Monday, September 25, 2017 - 12:00pm Kohei Hayashi
Dark matter in the Galactic dwarf spheroidal galaxies
1st meeting room, KIAA
Monday, September 18, 2017 - 12:00pm Marios Karouzos
What is Nature Astronomy and how do I get published in it ?
TBD
Tuesday, September 5, 2017 - 12:00pm Petchara Pattarakijwanich
Roles of Environment and Core Stellar Density in Star-formation Quenching
1st meeting room, KIAA
Wednesday, August 2, 2017 - 12:00pm Smitha Subramanian (KIAA)
Evolution of galaxies as traced by stellar populations
KIAA First floor meeting room

Pages