Colloquia

All colloquia are held in the KIAA-PKU auditorium unless otherwise noted.

Upcoming Colloquia

Thursday, June 28, 2018 - 4:00pm Dr Christian Wolf
The SkyMapper Southern Survey
Thursday, July 5, 2018 - 4:00pm Eric D. Feigelson, Penn State Univ.
ARIMA, TCF and RF: A new statistical approach to exoplanet transit detection
Friday, September 21, 2018 - 4:00pm Boaz Katz
TBD
Friday, November 2, 2018 - 4:00pm Avishai Dekel
TBD
Thursday, November 22, 2018 - 4:00pm Chris (Krzystof) Belczynski, Nicolaus Copernicus Astronomical Center
Gravitational-wave Astrophysics: BH-BH/NS-NS mergers with LIGO/Virgo

Past Colloquia

Thursday, May 26, 2016 - 4:00pm Tsevi Mazeh (Tel Aviv University)
Stellar rotation and exoplanets obliquity -- What can we learn from the Kepler space mission data gold mine?
Thursday, May 19, 2016 - 4:00pm Chris Sneden (Department of Astronomy and McDonald Observatory, University of Texas at Austin, USA)
Early Galactic Nucleosynthesis of Iron-Group Elements: New Spectroscopic Constraints
Thursday, May 12, 2016 - 4:00pm Ruobing Dong (UC Berkeley)
Spirals, Gaps, and Cavities in Protoplanetary Disks: Are We Watching Planets Forming in Action?
Wednesday, May 11, 2016 - 4:00pm Keiichi Umetsu (ASIAA, Taiwan)
Ensemble Mass Distribution of Galaxy Clusters from the CLASH Survey: Concentration–Mass Relation, Stacked Mass Profile, and Splashback Radius
Thursday, May 5, 2016 - 4:00pm Toru Kojo (Central China Normal University)
Neutron star equations of state: implications for cold, dense QCD
Thursday, April 28, 2016 - 4:00pm Katelyn Allers (Bucknell University)
Brown Dwarfs as Exoplanet Analogs
Thursday, April 21, 2016 - 4:00pm Lei Hao (SHAO)
The Co-evolution of AGNs and Galaxies, Viewed from 2D Spectroscopy
Thursday, April 14, 2016 - 4:00pm Hong Guo (SHAO)
The Galaxy-Halo Connection From The Velocity Field
Tuesday, April 12, 2016 - 4:00pm Evan Kirby (Caltech)
Dwarf Galaxies: Laboratories for Nucleosynthesis and Dark Matter
Thursday, April 7, 2016 - 4:00pm Juntai Shen (SHAO)
Gas inflow patterns and nuclear rings in barred galaxies

Pages