Colloquia

All colloquia are held in the KIAA-PKU auditorium unless otherwise noted.

Upcoming Colloquia

Thursday, June 28, 2018 - 4:00pm Dr Christian Wolf
The SkyMapper Southern Survey
Thursday, July 5, 2018 - 4:00pm Eric D. Feigelson, Penn State Univ.
ARIMA, TCF and RF: A new statistical approach to exoplanet transit detection
Friday, September 21, 2018 - 4:00pm Boaz Katz
TBD
Friday, November 2, 2018 - 4:00pm Avishai Dekel
TBD
Thursday, November 22, 2018 - 4:00pm Chris (Krzystof) Belczynski, Nicolaus Copernicus Astronomical Center
Gravitational-wave Astrophysics: BH-BH/NS-NS mergers with LIGO/Virgo

Past Colloquia

Thursday, October 26, 2017 - 4:00pm Prof. Eli Waxman (Weizmann Institute of Science, Israel)
High energy neutrino astronomy: What have we learned?
Thursday, October 19, 2017 - 4:00pm Jorge Piekarewicz, Department of Physics, Florida State University
The Nuclear Physics of Neutron Stars
Thursday, October 12, 2017 - 4:00pm Prof. Laura Sales, UC Riverside
Dwarf galaxies and their satellites as extreme probes of LCDM
Thursday, September 28, 2017 - 4:00pm Barbara Catinella, International Centre for Radio Astronomy Research, University of Western Australia
Cold gas in galaxies: single-dish surveys in the SKA era
Tuesday, September 19, 2017 - 4:00pm Stijn Wuyts, University of Bath, UK
The growth of disks and bulges
Thursday, July 27, 2017 - 4:00pm Prof Albrecht Karle (University of Wisconsin-Madison)
IceCube and the Discovery of Energetic Cosmic Neutrinos
Thursday, July 6, 2017 - 4:00pm Doug Johnstone
Observing Variability of Embedded Protostars: The JCMT Transient Survey
Thursday, June 29, 2017 - 4:00pm Banibrata Mukhopadhyay
Super- and sub-Chandrasekhar limiting mass white dwarfs: Progenitors of peculiar type Ia supernovae and multiple astrophysical implications
Thursday, June 22, 2017 - 4:00pm Xilong Fan
Gravitational Wave Astronomy with High-Frequency Gravitational Waves
Thursday, June 15, 2017 - 4:00pm Prof. Zheng Zheng, University of Utah
Anisotropic Galaxy Clustering in the Isotropic Universe

Pages