Colloquia

All colloquia are held in the KIAA-PKU auditorium unless otherwise noted.

Upcoming Colloquia

Thursday, May 25, 2017 - 4:00pm Ian Czekala, KIPAC Postdoctoral Fellow at Stanford University
Protoplanetary Disks around Pre-main Sequence Binary Stars
Thursday, June 1, 2017 - 4:00pm Prof. Zach Etienne, West Virginia University (WVU) Department of Mathematics, http://math.wvu.edu/~zetienne/
Electromagnetic Counterparts to Gravitational Wave Detections: Bridging the Gap between Theory and Observation
Thursday, June 8, 2017 - 4:00pm Xu Kong
TBD
Thursday, June 15, 2017 - 4:00pm Zheng Zheng
TBD
Thursday, June 22, 2017 - 4:00pm Xilong Fan
TBD
Thursday, June 29, 2017 - 4:00pm Banibrata Mukhopadhyay
TBD
Thursday, September 21, 2017 - 4:00pm Barbara Catinella
TBD
Thursday, September 28, 2017 - 4:00pm Sherry Suyu
TBD
Thursday, October 12, 2017 - 4:00pm Prof. Laura Sales, UC Riverside
TBD
Thursday, October 19, 2017 - 4:00pm Jorge Piekarewicz, Department of Physics, Florida State University
The Nuclear Physics of Neutron Stars

Past Colloquia

Thursday, August 4, 2016 - 4:00pm Aigen Li (University of Missouri, USA)
PAHs in Astrophysics
Thursday, July 7, 2016 - 4:00pm Kohta Murase (Penn State University)
Mysteries of cosmic high-energy neutrinos
Thursday, June 23, 2016 - 4:00pm Thomas Tam (Sun Yat-Sen University)
Gamma-Ray Bursts in the Last Observing Window: the >10 GeV Energy Band
Thursday, June 16, 2016 - 4:00pm Yin-Zhe Ma (University of KwaZUlu-Natal, South Africa)
Detection of the missing baryons with thermal and kinetic Sunyaev-Zeldovich effect
Wednesday, June 8, 2016 - 4:00pm Claire Max (UC Santa Cruz)
Nearby Galaxy Mergers Seen with Adaptive Optics: A Sharper Image
Thursday, June 2, 2016 - 4:00pm Feng Yuan (SHAO)
Black hole accretion and outflow
Tuesday, May 31, 2016 - 3:00pm Xing Wei (Shanghai Jiaotong University)
Some applications of rotating MHD
Thursday, May 26, 2016 - 4:00pm Tsevi Mazeh (Tel Aviv University)
Stellar rotation and exoplanets obliquity -- What can we learn from the Kepler space mission data gold mine?
Thursday, May 19, 2016 - 4:00pm Chris Sneden (Department of Astronomy and McDonald Observatory, University of Texas at Austin, USA)
Early Galactic Nucleosynthesis of Iron-Group Elements: New Spectroscopic Constraints
Thursday, May 12, 2016 - 4:00pm Ruobing Dong (UC Berkeley)
Spirals, Gaps, and Cavities in Protoplanetary Disks: Are We Watching Planets Forming in Action?

Pages