Colloquia

All colloquia are held in the KIAA-PKU auditorium unless otherwise noted.

Upcoming Colloquia

Tuesday, January 16, 2018 - 4:00pm Dr. Ke Fang
Probing the origins of astroparticles in the multi-messenger era 
Wednesday, January 17, 2018 - 4:00pm Dr. Kohei Inayoshi
Black hole evolution: from stellar mass to ultra-massive ones
Thursday, January 18, 2018 - 4:00pm Dr. Dandan XU
Probing the Cosmos through Gravitational Lensing
Monday, January 22, 2018 - 4:00pm Dr. Daniel Ceverino
Galaxy Formation through the Dark Ages Until Today
Tuesday, January 23, 2018 - 4:00pm Dr. Ke Wang
The Dawn of Star Formation: revealing the initial conditions for massive star formation throughout the Milky Way
Thursday, March 22, 2018 - 4:00pm Prof. Zhanwen Han
TBD
Thursday, May 17, 2018 - 4:00pm Chunhua Qi, CfA
TBD

Past Colloquia

Monday, November 6, 2017 - 4:00pm Geoffrey Bower, Chief Scientist for Hawaii Operations
Sagittarius A* and the Galactic Pulsar
Thursday, October 26, 2017 - 4:00pm Prof. Eli Waxman (Weizmann Institute of Science, Israel)
High energy neutrino astronomy: What have we learned?
Thursday, October 19, 2017 - 4:00pm Jorge Piekarewicz, Department of Physics, Florida State University
The Nuclear Physics of Neutron Stars
Thursday, October 12, 2017 - 4:00pm Prof. Laura Sales, UC Riverside
Dwarf galaxies and their satellites as extreme probes of LCDM
Thursday, September 28, 2017 - 4:00pm Barbara Catinella, International Centre for Radio Astronomy Research, University of Western Australia
Cold gas in galaxies: single-dish surveys in the SKA era
Tuesday, September 19, 2017 - 4:00pm Stijn Wuyts, University of Bath, UK
The growth of disks and bulges
Thursday, July 27, 2017 - 4:00pm Prof Albrecht Karle (University of Wisconsin-Madison)
IceCube and the Discovery of Energetic Cosmic Neutrinos
Thursday, July 6, 2017 - 4:00pm Doug Johnstone
Observing Variability of Embedded Protostars: The JCMT Transient Survey
Thursday, June 29, 2017 - 4:00pm Banibrata Mukhopadhyay
Super- and sub-Chandrasekhar limiting mass white dwarfs: Progenitors of peculiar type Ia supernovae and multiple astrophysical implications
Thursday, June 22, 2017 - 4:00pm Xilong Fan
Gravitational Wave Astronomy with High-Frequency Gravitational Waves

Pages